Help with RITEKG04 dvd-r & nec 2500

Hello all, newbie here and first post…

I just received my NEC 2500 from newegg.com with 5 free RITEKG04 dvd-r, i prepared my backup dvd movie with dvdshrink 3.17 and tried to burn with nero 6.3.0.3, it gets to the writing to disk screen and then just freezes, the last dialogue is burn process started at 4x…i am using stock firmware, manufactured feb 2004, dma is on, it produced 3 coasters and then i updated nero to 6.3.1.6 and it produced the final 2 coasters…all dvd-r s wasted:sad:

I tested the drive with CD and it burnt perfectly…are there any parameters i should set? or am i using the wrong media? has anyone had this problem?..is it even possible to back up movies on dvd-r for play on standalone players?

please help

Thanks in advance all:bigsmile:

Are you using Nvidia IDE controller drivers or Intel Application Accelerator?

intel

IAA is bad for burners on some systems.

http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=92320

Thanks a lot for all the help rdgrimes, apparently it must have been the media, i am running stock firmware and the free dvd-r’s i received from newegg.com might have been the problem, here is the Media Information:

Media Information                            

Region information N/A not a DVD-VIDEO
Media code/Manufacturer ID RITEKG04
Format Capacity Not Formatted
Free Blocks 412352512
Free Capacity 4.38GB(4.71GB)
Book Type DVD-R
Media Type DVD-R
Media Id Code Speed 4.0x 5540KBps
Available Write Descriptor CLV 4.0x 5540KBps
Available Write Descriptor CLV 2.0x 2770KBps
Write Strategy Speed 4.0x 5540KBps
2x Speed OPC beta 08
2x Speed OPC power 12
2x Write Strategy field 1 11 86 67 80
2x Write Strategy field 2 88 80 00 00 00 00
4x Speed OPC beta 05
4x Speed OPC power 1B
4x Write Strategy field 1 0E 10 08 09
4x Write Strategy field 2 97 06 0D 0B
4x Write Strategy field 3 00 00 00 00
4x Speed OPC beta multi-pulse 04
4x Speed OPC power multi-pulse 1D
4x Write Strategy field 4 18 A8 88 85