Help with my q120a - firmware upgrade?

vbimport

hey

im totally new to this sorta stuff
I want to upgrade my drives firmware. I ran cd-dvd speed, and it says:
Sony DVD RW DW-Q120A PHYS1
so i’m assuming its a DW-Q120A model, with firmware PHYS1

I use it for mainly burning dvds. I don’t mind about warranties or anything.

I guess i’m interested in accuracy and speed =d I can get these really crappy dvds from a local store, MVD brand name (totally random i guess), but sometimes my writer doesn’t burn on it.

so anyway, should I upgrade firmware?
I’ve downloaded PHYS3 from sonyisstorage.com , and 160P6S.PS0C.patched-16xOS-rs.rar (the speed unlocked version) from these forums, as well as 160P6S.PS0B.stock.rar

i’m getting slightly confused though. not sure which one to use. any recommendations?

and, if possible, can someone link me to a post which shows what blanks are best for my drive? I’m assuming dvd+r’s would be better, since its a sony drive? or am i totally wrong. hm

thanks in advance

btw, what about write strategies? worth changing write strategy?

edit:
ok, dw about the dvd+r/dvd-r question. did some reading, seems my drive does better with dvd+r (cheers to jesterrace)

Hi Grey Council, welcome to CDFreaks! :slight_smile:

I suggest you start with PYS3 firmware.

If you decide you need the additional functionality available by cross-flashing to a LiteOn SHW-160P6S then go ahead and do that, but your warranty will be lost. Cross-flashing will probably not make the burn quality better, but it will allow you to measure jitter on your burned discs; I don’t know if you’re interested in Disc Quality scanning, but I’m just mentioning it.

No drive will burn bad media really well, regardless of firmware, so I recommend getting some quality CD/DVD media. LiteOn drives to slightly prefer DVD+R over DVD-R but the difference isn’t significant anymore IMO.