Help with lite-on 1633!

i am totally new to this, but here goes…I installed a Lite-on 1633 dvdrw in my G4 (mdd) 867, 1.75ram and it worked fine until a few days ago. the problem is I’m not sure what happened, but it is not working now. It has power, will open and close, but not read any disc! or write to them. It is also making a noise now when I put the cd in, but in toast it will eject cd and say put in recordable disc, when I know it is blank!
I know there is new firmware that I need to install, but I am not sure how to do this? I have virtual pc, but it doesn’t seem to work…I also have access to a pc computer, so I could take it out and install the firmware in the pc??
Any help would be appreciated, since I’m not sure what to do at this point or where to start? Are there any mac utilities that would tell me what is going on or where could I look? console?
help!

thanks!

ebbhead2

hi…
Unfortunatly i also have problem with sony dru710a aka liteon 1633… about 1 week ago i make firmware update from byx2 to byx3 … everything was normal but 4 days ago i start to have problems when i was burning cd’s… when i have about 100 % of burn my sony freeze on lead out… then i record on slower speed and was ok but then was again freezing… only way - restart… from 3 days it stop working - when i put empty cd i have the same problem - it trying to be read but after one moment i dont know… something is wrong… i can’t play my cd on this… and after one moment this small light starting blinking…many people have this problem…
AND THE BEST - IT CAN WRITE AND READ DVD’S. I have only problem with cd burning and reading…
I try many things… i try many bios from liteon 1633… 1653… and of course sony dru710…no effect… i also try to do it with mtkflash… also with omnipatcher… and i try to restore eeprom media…
All of this - no effect.