Help with computer build

vbimport

I’ve posted for help on several computer forums but have got limited help or the things they recommended didn’t work so I was hoping someone here could help.

My build:
Cooler Master 912 Advanced
Intel i5-2500K
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Seasonic S12II 520 Bronze
Corsair Vengeance 2X4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9B
Western Digital Cavier Black (WD1002Faex 1TB)
ASUS DRW-24B1ST
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
AFT XM5U Card Reader
Using Integrated HD Graphics 3000

This is my first build and my nephew is actually doing the build (has built two computers in the past) but we’ve ran into a problem of it not posting we get a blank screen on the monitor.

We are getting a b2 code from Dr Debug which refers to “Legacy Option ROM Initialization”.

Things we’ve tried:
Clearing the CMOS and removing the CMOS battery.
Powering up with just the motherboard, CPU, DDR3 memory, fans, power supply and chassis speaker connected.
Trying all different configuration of RAM slots including just using one stick.
Tried using a stick of DDR3 out of my mom’s Dell computer although I suppose it might not be compatible.

Could I have a RAM compatibility issue or could it be a bad motherboard?

http://www.asrock.com/mb/memory.us.asp?Model=Z68%20Extreme3%20Gen3

http://www.asrock.com/mb/manual.asp?Model=Z68%20Extreme3%20Gen3

While I really like the features and price of the ASRock motherboard I didn’t realize they provided no tech support, or anyway they’re not answering my emails.

[QUOTE=mccoady;2616965]While I really like the features and price of the ASRock motherboard I didn’t realize they provided no tech support, or anyway they’re not answering my emails.[/QUOTE]

I’ve long taken the position that if I cannot make a computer POST
in 20minutes it probably will not… ever…