Help with .avi to (s)vcd

Hi, this was originally intended as a PM to ChickenMaster until I saw he doesn’t read/respond to PMs. I’ll post it in the forum here for general discussion then. Basically I’m new to DVD technology/burning (but not computers in general). The field is enormous and complex and I’d like to get some pointers in the right direction or to the right guides/programs plz.

Hi, I browsed your faq and it looks really detailed and thorough. I can’t work on it for a few weeks cause I’m studying for my CCNA, but perhaps you can answer a couple of quick easy questions to see if my mode of thinking is on track:

1. I’m trying to backup convert/encode (whatever) some 350mb .avis into a format that my home dvd player can hopefully read. My panasonic player says it can read CD-R, DVD-R, and Video CD. If it can supposedly read VCD, would it likely be able to read SVCD also? (I think SVCD is significantly smaller than VCDs?)

2. It seems all of this is for the goal of burning SVCD CD-Rs. Since DVD-Rs hold 7x more data and should be readable by many home dvd players, is it possible to also make SVCDs onto DVD-Rs? Or does that require some new age programs that aren’t out? Basically I guess what I’m asking (and I can research more thoroughly on this large topic, but would appreciate a pointer) is can there be a way to burn .avi source files onto DVD-Rs such that they would likely be playable on a home dvd player? If not SVCD/VCD then perhaps convert them into a flat out mpeg2 or .vob format?? (not sure the difference between all these formats…is it just compression?)

Any help is most appreciated.

Vally