Help: Trying to decide on CloneDVD2 and AnyDVD

Hi all, I’m a fresh newbie, just starting to learn about backing up DVDs.

I have recently downloaded and tried out AnyDVD and CloneDVD2 to backup movies DVDs. Prior to this, I’ve done many succesful backups with DVD Decrypter and DVD Shrink. I also own Nero 6 and have used it to do the burning onto DVD-5 discs as well. The reason I tried out AnyDVD and CloneDVD2 was because I started running into DVDs that DVD Decrypter could no longer decrypt (i.e. the movie Stealth). So far I’ve found AnyDVD and CloneDVD2 working very well for me. I have a few questions I’d like to resolve before I make a buy decision:

1. Does DVDClone2 support backing up movies DVDs to Dual Layer discs? Is it easy to set the layer break, or is it something the software does automatically? Is there a guide on how to set this up for DVDClone2? I haven’t actually burned any DL discs, and if there’s a primer or tutorial somewhere you can point me to, that’d be great.

2. If I buy and use AnyDVD, do I actually need CloneDVD2, or would my Nero 6 software work just as well? Are there any advantages to using CloneDVD2?

Thanks for all helpful advice!

Hi, and welcome

1, clonedvd does support backing up to DL disc’s, i think the layer break is set be clonedvd, which isn’t where the original is (i think). But DVDD put’s the layer break in the same place, ISO --> Read, ISO–> Write.

2, No, you can buy anydvd and use it with any other program.

Guides and Tutorials

http://club.cdfreaks.com/forumdisplay.php?f=72

Clonedvd & anydvd forums

http://club.cdfreaks.com/forumdisplay.php?f=62

Hi and welcome to the forums :slight_smile:

Regarding your questions:

1. CloneDVD does support dual layer discs, and since there is no option when burning to manually set the layer break I assume it’s automatic (Perhaps someone can correct me on this)