Help Troubleshoot a NEC ND-3540a DVD

Can someone help me troubleshoot a new NEC ND-3540a DVD R/RW drive. I am new to the DVD world and I am afraid I don’t know much about it. It all started when my instructor burned DVDs for everyone in class and I couldn’t read the one he burnt for me. I have a Dell Dimension 4600 and I ordered it with a DVD HL-DT-ST model drive and a CD-R/W HL-DT-ST model drive. So I thought maybe my DVD drive was older and couild not read the DVD that the instructor burned. That’s when I purchased this new NEC drive hoping that would rectify my situation. To my surprise it has intensified it. I mostly use the CD-R/W. I have Nero 6.6.0.16 application and the new NEC came with an older version of Nero with it. I have read alot of threads but none of them really seam to be the same as my issue. The following is what I have so far:

1. I did find out that the first DVD burnt for me was junk, no other dirve could read it either. So he burnd me another one, and a Liteon DVD drive at the classroom could read the new one. But my new NEC DVD drive can’t. I put the Dell DVD drive in another PC and it could not read it either.

2. I have done nothing with the firmware version so it has the OEM 1.01 version.

3. I have made sure my Nero software is up to date.

4. I did buy some KHypermedia DVD+R 8X Data 4.7GB media from Office Max to replace the one the instructor burnt for me (part of his requirements). So I have read threads about these NECs being fussy about the media and have not tried any other.

5. I have a DVD training video that I have tried in the NEC drive and it could play that.

I don’t know where to go from here and could certainly use some patient help. I was hoping this new drive would make things less complicated but they seem to have only gotten more complex.

Some things to looks for. You may or may not need some help in determining the following. Post back if you do?

1. Is the drive running in UDMA 2 mode?