HELP STOP dvdplay!

vbimport

:a
I am not a newbie when incomes to Windows and software installs, but I usually use Power DVD to watch and screen movies. I recently did a totally fresh install of Windows2000 and now “dvdplay” autostarts whenever I put a DVD in. I didn,t even know the dn prog existed until now ! I installed Nero Showtime and would prefer to use it. I can’t find out where the hl DVDPLAY is starting from. I have deleted it to no avail, it just comes right back ! If someone could help me get rid of it I would appreciate it.

TIA.

bugsout

I am still trying to get rid of “dvdplay” or at least disable it.
Please see post HELP STOP dvdplay

patience. please. it has not been 1 day since you posted.

my computer -> tools -> folder options, click file types tab, then when it finally comes up, click DVD. under the “play” option, click advanced, and it will have a default program listed for it.

Thanks for the reminder about patience. I am usually complimented on how much I have. Anyway as to your answer, in Windows 2000 you have to go to Control Panel to access Folder options and File Types, which is irrelevent because there is no DVD in file types, but there is VOB and UDF which are both associated with Nero Showtime. Now the 'Mystery" I have changed no settings since posting my problem, and “dvdplay” no longer autostarts when I insert a DVD and neither does Nero Showtime even though I have its setting to autostart. BUT what does happen now is that a message pops up when I insert a DVD that says " e is not a recognized protocol " I am using Firefox as my browser and when I click OK in the message box, a totally blank browser window opens. So now the problem is how do I stop the " e is not a recognized protocol " message.
Thanks again,
bugsout

If you cannot find the application in Folder Options, then search the C partition for DVDPLAY (advanced options). Now rename DVDPLAY to DVDPLAYOLD by right clicking the icon and selecting properties.

sorry, cant read.