Help Selecting Laser Printer

Ok, so I have a large collection of DVD’s which I’ve obtained which do not have covers. I would like to print out covers for these. The problem is that printing with an inkjet printer can be expensive, and it does not take long to go through ink cartridges. My question is can anybody provide suggestions as to which printer would be best for this purpose?? I am considering a color laser printer. Even though they are more expensive initially, I would hope that it would work out cheaper in the end since I will not be constantly replacing cartridges. However, I do not know if this is a reasonable route to take. If a laser would not be the best option, does anyone have any suggestions for the most cost effective inkjet printer to use??

Thank you very much for you input in advance, and I apologize if I have broken any rules. I am new to this whole forum thing =)

In order to see a significant cost benefit from a laser unit you would need to print 1000’s of pages in most cases.

If you’re printing movie covers to go into the plastic sleeve on a DVD case, it won’t matter what you use cause it’ll all look much the same under plastic. Any decent inkjet printer and low-cost premium inkjet paper will do the trick. You’re talking about maybe $150 max to buy the printer and print the first 200 covers. Maybe less depending on ink coverage and the life of the initial ink tanks. There are printers on sale that come with a full set of full tanks that sell for less than the tanks alone, and compatible inks will cut the costs of ink by 50-75%. The Epson R280 and similar models are an excellent example, but the Canon printers are cheaper to run with OEM tanks.

Movie covers tend to be dark, and use a lot of blacks and colors alike. So ink usage will be fairly uniform across the colors. Use a printer that has dye based black for best results. The Epsons do, and the Canon IP4xxx and above models do.