HELP! Power Supply burned out, Please!

vbimport

Hello all,

Im a new pc builder and have just ran into an enormous problem. First let me tell you my specs, everything is brand new, except for the power supply and optical drives:

ANTEC TruePower 480W
ASUS A8N-Deluxe SLI
AMD Athlon 64 3200
WD Raptor 74GB SATA
Maxtor MaxLine III 250 GB SATA
ATI Radeon X700 PCI-express 256MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Pioneer DVD-107D burner
Creative 52x CD drive
Floppy Drive
3x Corsair 512MB DDR-DIMM ValueSelect
Couple fans

I built this pc, reading all directions really carefully, took me 3-4 hours, cuz I wanted to make sure everything was correct. I double checked everything. I plug all the correct wires etc…

So now I come to turning on the pc. I first turned on the power supply… I saw a light turn on in my case, i believe that was my motherboard, so thats good. I would like to stress that the computer was NOT IN USE, this was the first time I turned it on. So now to turn on the pc, i pressed the ON button…

DAMN, I heard a pop and saw a flash, and the pc did not turn on. A real bad odor came out of the power supply. So Im assuming the power supply burned out…But PLEASE, for I cannot afford another computer, tell me that hopefully the other pieces of hardware are fine…Again, the computer was NOT IN USE, this was the first turn on…

Please, your help and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks

I’m not an expert on building pc’s, but with my limited understanding of electronics, it sounds like you have a short somewhere. You should be able to check with an ohm meter for that. Antec’s are top of the line power supplies.

Just realized this, my room has no electricity, certain sockets, lights dont work, tv dont work…hmmmm