Help please

vbimport

Hi I am a newbie to burning movies I currently own a samsung SH W162C burner I use normally nero 7 to encode and burn my movies but since buying this samsung burner I am getting frustrated as it takes approx 1 hour to encode the movie from avi to dvd then about another 1hour and some to burn to disc on my last old burner which I jammed and stuck a knife in and that was the end of that it used to only take about 10 mins to burn the movie I have just got clonedvd2 and dvdsanta they all seem to take at least 1hour to burn the movie i have updated my firmware on my samsung to the latest but no change I am currently using Memorex DVD-R x16 and from reading the forums today I see they are rated as crap so I just ordered some verbatims today at the same speed any help would be really appreciated as 2 hours is so frustrating to get a movie thanx all BasJon

First thing to do is check if dma is enabled for the drive. Here is the link showing how to do this.

Unless you have a high power dual core system, you can expect about a 1 to 1 time for encoding and burning the video. So a 1 1/2 hour movie can take up to 1 1/2 hours for the burning and encoding procedure combined. See the systems in my signature, and I can do mine slightly better than the 1 to 1, but not a whole lot.

If he went from 10 minute burns to 1 hour burns, he probably has the new burner set on PIO mode.

I agree! I was just letting him know what he could expect for combined time…