Help Please with Mad Dog!

vbimport

I’m new to this DVD backup business, but I have always burn cd’s. Well I recently bought a Mad Dog Multimedia LightScribe 18x Triple Format DVD-RW Drive, External, USB 2.0 / FireWire I have updated the firmware from mad dog site for this drive after I called them. The problem is I cannot successfully burn a DVD. I use the external as the reader and writer and even tryed my notebook as the internal reader of a DVD but still doesn’t work. I started using anydvd which works fine, and clonedvd2 which reads the dvd fine but when it writes and usually burns and then stops around 61% and says failed with error-WriteDVD 10 11 W2. I only tryed one type of blank DVD’s and they are (Maxell DVD+R/ 4.7GB- up to 16x). I also tried to use DVD Shrink with Nero and still not getting results. I’m not even sure if i’m doing anythign right or this drive is bad. Well if someone have any suggestions please tell and let me know what type of other DVDs should I go buy and try thanks.

So is anyone awake out there, still looking for help- Should I just send this Mad Dog drive back? Someone reply or Im me on Aim at id0notkn0w

I would try a different brand of media (Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden) and lower burn speed. You don’t mention at what speed you attempted, but for most 16x media, 8x or 12x will provide the best results.

I’m glad someone is trying to help, Yes I been just leaving it at Max but I’m trying now at 4x, I’m about to go to the local Rite-Ad to see what DVDs they got, This drive supposelly use any type- is there a certain type I use try i Have DVD+R?

It is not type but the brand of media like “Verbatim or TY”

If those are Ritek-made Maxells, as I suspect, Max speed isn’t a good idea.

Let us know how the 4x burn turns out.

Verbatims can be bought at OfficeMax, Best Buy, etc. Taiyo Yudens will need to be bought online at Rima.com, Supermediastore.com, or the like.

Your drive should handle both + or - R just fine.