Help: pioneer dvr-112D how to remove region counter

I’m a noob regarding dvd burner and firmware so pls. bear with me and my questions.
I bought a pioneer dvr-112D last sept in the US….then moved to australia in december….
Now I cannot view any PAL dvds on my NTSC dvd drive….actually I can but I need to permanently change the region code of my burner to a PAL region which I do not want…
My main reasons for trying to change the region setting of my burner region are as follows:

• I need the burner to read/play PAL region dvds (australia) so that my kid can watch her dvds while I watch using our region free dvd player. I do not have time to watch unless she does something also….=(
  • I need to make back-ups of my nintendo Wii games. My console is in NTSC region (USA) so I need to burn my back-up games in NTSC so that my console can read/play it. The back-up game must be burned in region 1 setting or the console will read the disk as error.

I tried to read and understand the posts in this section but my head still cannot follow. So could someone summarize the procedure in making the dvr-112D region free?
The ony thing I understood is to check first with Nero Infotools to check if the drive is RCP1 or RCP2.

Here are my specific questions:

1. What if my drive is RCP2, what steps to do? What firmwares/software do I need? Where to get it?

2. After patching my drive firmware, do I need any softwares to reset the region counter? How often do I need to reset th eregion counter?

3. If I change my drive to region free, does it mean that it can play/read any region movie dvds? Does it also mean that if I make a back-up of my NTSC region game, I will be also be able to burn it on a dvd in NTSC region format or will the burned back-up game now be region free also?