Help! pc crashes!

only recently have i had this problem. a few weeks ago my computer was fine.

it happens mainly whilst encoding avi files to dvd. itll get between 20% to 40% then my cpu just shuts down without a warning or error message then when i try to switch it back on it wont restart for about 10 minutes.

ive tried a few programmes (nero, dvdsanta, power producer and vso convertxtodvd) and all do the same. ive uninstalled xp and reinstalled it but it still does the same. im not running any other programmes in the background and my computer temperature seems fine.

any ideas??

i am pretty new to this so please dont use too much fancy computer lingo :bigsmile:

H-751 " wrote" it happens mainly whilst encoding avi files to dvd. itll get between 20% to 40% then my cpu just shuts down without a warning or error message then when i try to switch it back on it wont restart for about 10 minutes.
Sounds like HW problem to me, maybe Power supply,what are your PC specs? Also check CPU temp with core temp tool…http://www.thecoolest.zerobrains.com/CoreTemp/
And WC to freaks! :slight_smile:

Welcome to CDF :smiley:

I would suspect first CPU temps, then PSU.

Good advice from t0nee1 :slight_smile:

thanks for the welcome guys. the cpu temp is all fine. im not sure on my specs where will i find all the info you need and what should i do about the power supply?

If your PC isn’t under warranty, open up the case and tell us what’s written on the sticker on your power supply unit (watts, brand name etc). :slight_smile:

Example: my PSU is made by FSP, and is a 350W model.

You say your temps are fine, what are the temps (and what CPU do you have)? I ask because it’s easier to double check that.

tbh i dont know what the temps are. my wife checked them yesterday and i tried using the 1 on the link from t0nee1 but when i tried to install it gave me an error saying this is not an intel core processor.