Help needed: video captured from a VHS

Hi, i need help regarding a VHS Rip which i’ve doned(with VDM). First off, i’m a newbie in video processing, and thus, i don’t know the right terms for each video process, thanks in advance for your patience.

Now that being said, now the trouble is that i experience some kind of a speed problem, the image goes from normal to a bit slow with some sort of a motion effec(minor), kinda of a skip or a jammed image but its not jamming/stoping/skipping per say.

Hope you’ll understand my explanation & knows how this trouble is called, so i can use the right term next time.

Maybe there is a filter for VDM to fix this, or maybe there is another kind of procedure involving other apps then VDM and which will fix this weird trouble.

So, can anyone of you guys help me please?

Thanks in advance for any helpful reply

Assuming you are capturing on your PC, this sounds like dropped frames. Such is common when your PC and hard drive cannot keep up with the capture. Defrag your hard drive, or better yet use a separate physical hard drive to capture to. Stop all un-needed processes, then try the capture again.

Hi, thanks for the quick reply.

I’ve tried 4 time the transfer from my VHS(home made) to my brand new PC(a month old, running XP on a DELL Dimension 9200C, iomega quick touch external video capture card). Each time, all un-needed process were stoped, my internet was unplugged, nothing was running(background included), expect of course for the capturing process.

So, with those new info on my system, and how it was running at the time of the capturings(4 times), what can be done?

Like i said, i use VDM, but i’m open to any suggestions, as long as the app(s) don’t cost too much, see VDM is free, but i’m welling to pay for a better app(s) if its really necessary.

Thanks again

I used to use Scenalyzer for capturing and liked it a lot. Then I got tired of the whole headache and bought a DVD recorder. :wink:

Hey Bob!