HELP NEEDED, newb here! - Pioneer 103 installation :(

Hi guys,

I managed to obtain a Pioneer DVR-103 DVD drive from a friend lately as a favour, and he says it’s in working condition. I stick it in, (the jumper is on the master settingon the drive) and turn on my computer.

Windows XP recognises it and installs the driver, everything seems ok. The problem? It won’t do anything! I stick a CD in, green flashing light which changes to an orange flashing light after a while.

I try a DVD-ROM game, same thing happens. The usual Insert a DVD in Drive F: appears.

Thanks for looking, any help would be GREATLY appreciated as I need to get this up and running asap! :\ thanks!

Maybe the laser is dead… put some original cds and dvds to see if they play…

Try flashing a new firmware…

Hmm I see - total newb here, what exactly is flashing and how can I do it?

Sorry to be a pain, but I know sweet F.A to do with Optical drives.

Thanks again!

Your 103 is OLD… if you buy a new one for your pc it will be better…

Install DVD Identifier (http://dvd.identifier.cdfreaks.com/), run the app and see the 103 and what number appears after the FW…

I will try looking for a 103 firmware…

Got it… http://wwwbsc.pioneer.co.jp/cgi-bin/www1/download/file_get_e2.pl?file=R3TA200.EXE

Download version 2.00 and run the app…

Hmm, install was successful but still won’t recognise any CD’s or DVD’s of any kind. Thanks for you continued help so far, any other ideas?

Like I said, windows automatically installed the driver for the drive, but should it really say (Standard CD Manufacturers) as the Manufacturer of the drive under the properties option when I right click the drive? It’s listed as the Pioneer 103 on the computer, but I’m not sure what could possibly be wrong.

Argh >_< so confusing. The actual connections and physical setup appear to be just fine. There must be something I’m missing :\

Thanks again!

Did you install DVD Identifier or the firmware for the 103?