Help me choose a place to get my music

:bow:

Hi guys! This is not my first time to the forum but it is my first time posting a question. I know you guys know the ins and outs of all of these downloading sites and I need your help. For what seems to be the last trillion years I have been using WINMX for my music and of course now it (sniffle, sniffle) it gone. I am having music withdrawal!!! I have looked into legally downloading through Napster and all of them but my goodness by the time I pay $9 bucks a month and so many cents for each download I might as well go buy the album myself. Also most of them say that they offer 1 million songs…big deal! Maybe I am wrong but 1 million isn’t that many and I guarantee that if I did sign up with one of these programs I wouldn’t find the music that I am looking for like I did with WINMX (for obvious reasons of course). Please someone give me a site to go to. I don’t know who is reputable, who has spyware, who I have a sure fire chance of getting a law-suit put against me, etc. Any thoughts would help me…thanks in advance!

The only ones we can tell you about are the legal ones. REad the forum rules and you will see why.

Oh, I know that…but is there any legal ones that amounts to anything??? They all look like money getters to me and that they are not worth the time.

Any legal site is the same cost. 99 cents a track. Also, if they are legit, you can see the catalog to determine if they have what you want. Anything less, unless it is a subscription service like Rhapsody, is not legit and no one can help you here.

Frostwire and RevConnect are both very good programs to get your music. Of course, you can only use them to download indie, free, non-copyrighted music, as any other use would be illegal.
As for legit pay-per-download services like itunes or napster, forget them. They all encumber their music with some form of DRM “protection”.
AllOfMP3 doesn’t, but it’s yet to be seen whether it’s legit or not. I think.