HELP! LSC-24082K Read Issues

vbimport

I didn’t think I was a total newbie … and yet … I have no idea what I’ve done.

My DVD/CD [COMBO LSC-24082K on an eMachines M2352] drive will suddenly not read certain cds/dvds. “Certain” meaning (specifically) XP Pro SP2 orig disc; Civ.IV orig. disc; PC-cillin orig disc; Zoo Tycoon2, orig. disc …and more. I insert these, the drive spins and they load as blank media. These same discs play and load on my two other systems so the physical discs are not damaged.

This same drive will read/play other cds/dvds with out issue. “Other” meaning (specifically) My back up data data discs from work; older games (eg: Sim Farm orig disc; Scrabble; orig. disc); DVD movies (new orig. discs); Music cds/dvds (new orig. discs); and of course, the emachine restore dvd. There’s no physical problem with the drive. I’m still very puzzled on why the bootable emach. restore dvd works while the bootable XP disc reads as blank.

I am totally stumped. I had an issue with my video card driver and a DVD play problem that I “fixed”, this seems to be what started the read issue. All I did was load some codecs and update my Omega video drivers.

Please help!

Here’s what I’ve already done with the devil drive
(the DISCInfo summary trails the pathetic cry for help):

• uninstall the device re-boot and re-install.

• Check the Primary IDE settings for DMA if available.

• uninstalled the Omega video drivers and reinstalled the orig. OEM ATI video drivers from the restore DVD.

• removed all third party burning software (only Roxio and I used “roxizap” to finish it off.)

• updated the firmware for the drive using Flashfix and the update from the Lite-On firmware update page for the LSC-24082K.

• None of the above worked, so I decided to uninstall the device re-boot and re-install … again.

• No change. Same exact problem.