HELP! I can't copy movies!

vbimport

I’m a noob at this. I just got a LACIE d2 dvd RW drive external. I also got AnyDVD and CloneDVD2 with both the latest versions 5.4.1.1 and 2.8.5.1

I used the programs and it worked when i copied some dragon ball movies. but when I tried to copy black hawk down, it writes it to my hard drive successfully. So I start with my burn with my DL DVD+R and it goes 50% and it just kinda freezes. I don’t know what’s going on? I tried looking at the LACIE website but i don’t see any drivers.

Does anyone have the same burner like me that has this problem? Do you know what I am doing wrong. It works when I have a smaller movie and burn 4.7 GB dvd+r’s… But when I try to burn a full length movie use DL discs, they burn 50% and freeze. I am running AnyDVD too and it sseems like it is working. Is there a driver I am supposed to use or is the DL discs not compatible. I just don’t understand why the DL discs would burn 50% if it were not compatible though.

If anyone knows anything, I would gladly like your input. THanks so much for your time.

In CloneDVD, did you change the target size from DVD-5 to DVD+R DL?

Yah, I did. I also specified the speed like 2 - 4x or something like that. i made sure I chose the right speed and everything too. For some reason though, it just burns to 50% and just stays there. It’s wierd. Maybe i’m a idiot and don’t know what the hell i’m doing. haha. But if you could help me, that would be cool. Do you think it might be the type/brand of disk?

One thing for sure is that it writes to my hard drive fine. (at least it seems that way) It asks me to put the media in and when it writes to the disc, it doesn’t work y’know?

Appears to be a media recognition issue since you say it burns a single layer without problems, and it only gets to 50 % on a DL disk.

That’s not a very popular drive you have so information is limited.
I don’t know what kind of DL media you are using and if it’s compatible with your drive.