Help for a Total Newbie Please

vbimport

Hello,

I run winXP home with SP2

I am new to dvd burning. I have bought some verbatim dvd-r disks with a view to backing up my media files (MP3, WMA, AVI, JPEG etc). It took me about 2 days to work out that windows does not let you autoatically access the dvd-r format. I then bought a program called ‘BurnMyFiles’ from www.getdata.com. I have installed this program and appear to have been successful in writting data files to dvd-r disks.

(I have not yet worked out how to write an AVI file direct to the disk so that I can play it back, have not yet tried with MP3).

My problem is that when I come to check the disks to make sure that I can access the data I get a message saying

D:\ is not accessible

incorrect command

or more recently the drive completely fails to recognise the disk and tells me to

Please insert a disk into drive D:.

Any help would be great. I am new at this so any pointers in the direction a good guide to making backups using the dvd-r format would also be good.

Will

Oh have also emailed getdata - they have sent me a debugging program that appears to have removed my license but still does not let me access the written disks.

Welcome to CD Freaks.

ImgBurn is a free burning application widely used by members here. It has a Build mode so that you build a data compilation & then by switching the output to the burner burn that compilation straight to the burner.

If this fails you’ve got serious problems.

Another free app is CDBurnerXP Pro. Perhaps slightly easier to use initially than ImgBurn.

Yea but those are not really good for burning DATA and Audio dont ya think. ImgBurn is mainly used for writing iso files. It has a feature were you can write files to a cd/dvd. But it is rather complacated for a newbie. Try using Deep Burner Free. Google that it should be rather simple to find.

For audio use Burrrn
http://www.burrrn.net/?page_id=6