Help converting Ts_Video to iPod format w/ DVDFab; multiple codecs

vbimport

Just joined the site today after browsing your forums the last few days. Use my computer for many things; work, gaming, entertainment, and converting video and backing up my collection of movies has also become a hobby.

I suppose I am a Newbie, although I built my last two computers and have been using some version of DVDNext Copy for years to back up my DVDs; I’ve also been using Pinnacle’s Mobile Media Converter to convert my DVDs to my video iPod; both have worked pretty well.

At times I’ve also dabbled in DivX conversions, but not enough to really understand all the mechanics (codecs, filters, bitrates, etc. etc.); both DVDNext Cpy & MMC are very easy to use and don’t require (or allow) much configuration or tweaking.

However, I just bought the full version of DivX Pro to convert a movie I was having trouble converting to iPod w/ MMC (converted it from DVD to DivX then to iPod w/ MMC), and a few days later I bought DVDFab Platinum because the free version of that app ripped a movie DVDNC was unable to rip.

So now that I have all these programs (and I’m sure, conflicting codecs; I also have WM Player 11 and WinDVD 7 on my system) I’ve been experimenting with different iPod conversions to get the best quality and consistent results; I’m getting mixed results at best.

So, I’m here now to try and find some answers as to why I’m having difficulty with many of the conversion configurations (DivX makes you download the free AC3Filter so that’s one more codec). I suspect it has to do with all the different codecs and their priority, etc., but with all the trial-and-error testing I’ve done I still can’t make sense of what’s happening, and I’m afraid it’s above my head at this point!