Help burning MP3 files to CD-R's

Hi Everyone. I’m totally new at MP3 technology and have 2 basic questions in relation to burning MP3 files to CD-R’s using Windows Media Player 10 to be played in my car stereo (JVC model KD-G310). Anyone who can answer either or both of these questions, especially the first question, would save me a lot of time and effort, and I would greatly appreciate it. Here are the questions:

1. When I burn MP3 files to a CD-R to play in my car stereo, why won’t they play back in the order that I burned them to the CD? Do I need some sort of tag editor? Is that the problem?
  2. When I burn MP3 files to CD-R’s, why am I able to fit 12 hours (153 songs) of music on them? I thought the limit was 8 hours but accidentally selected 12 hours of music – and it worked. It plays all 12 hours perfectly in my new car stereo, but not in the track order that I burned it.

Sounds like your car stereo plays mp3’s, and that is what you accidently burned in WMP when you selected the 12 hour option (153 songs). A typical CD should not hold more than 20 songs (WAV).

This is what I got on a google search

JVC KD-G310

Description from Brandnamez: “JVC Car Cd/mp3 Receiver, 4 X 50 WTS, Multi-color Display => Model KD-G310”. So it looks like your car stereo will play mp3’s.

As far as the order goes, I suggest you select two songs, write down the order you selected them in WMP, and burn a test cd or cdrw.
Listen to the results on the burn cd and then create your playlist accordingly in WMP.

My car stereo plays mp3 too. In order for them to play in the right order you need to have the files named in sequential order.

There are a number of ways to do this.

1. Use Itunes. Create a playlist and burn to CD. Itunes will automatically rename your files on the disc so there is a number before the title. Only issue is you cannot create folders on your disc. You have 150 songs in one directory. Works fine.