Help burning DVDs

Hi
This is my first time trying to burn dvd’s and I have a double layer dvd burner and Nero 6 memorex suite. I tried burning dvd rip and avi files, but nero would just freeze it wouldn’t work when I added the file. I don’t know what is wrong. Please help.

I never heard of nero 6 memorex suite?? What is the exact number for your nero 6.x and also what kinda burner do you have and does it have the latest firmware? Also what kinda of media are you using and at what speed? Also what does nerospeed tell you about your drive settings? When does it freeze or hang and does it give a specific error message and also what kinda of file are you adding ie what is the file extensions? The file your adding was it created from a source and did you test it to see if the files you created was working or corruption free during the process? We need more details as to what is going on to resolve this problem your having.

Yes as coolcolors stated, and you need to be clear on this,
“I tried burning dvd rip and avi files, but nero would just freeze it wouldn’t work when I added the file. I don’t know what is wrong. Please help.”

What did you rip with? are you trying to burn an avi file???

I have Nero 6 and a memorex double layer dvd recorder with 16x.
I first tried importing an avi file, but then it would just have the busy icon and then it would become unresponsive. Then I tried importing a dvdrip and it didn’t work either, it just becomes unresponsive and I have to usually end the program. These are downloaded movies and I have watched these movies on my laptop before so I know that they work. Hope this helps, thanks.