Hello to all

Hello to all you kind people. I have just recently (searching the google on Bd-r burning) stumbled across this site. And all I can say is thank you that it exists. Without you many of my data would probably be lost. I have burned some CDs as well as DVDs over the years and have a pretty good collection. I have been bruning CDs and DVDs since early 1997 or 1996 and some of them are still in my collection.
I have recently bought a new Bd-r burner Pioneer 209EBD BD-R
And I thought my data was safe until…today. After reading some posts here I have decided to pick out some the first burned CDs and do the scans with this new Pioneer burner. To my big surprise even CDs that were burned in 1997 are still readable but after scaning with Nero DiscSpeed I can see that many areas(sectors) of the Cds are damaged (showing up yellow). Some of the CDs are damaged up to 50 or 60%. I could however copy the data to my backup harddrive. I am not done with all copy yet. So my questions for now would be. Is it “safe” to assume that the read data is still good? And if not how do I retrieve it in the best way/tools/drives. The second question would be what drive do I use to do the most reliable scans. Thank you in advance. Let the scans be with you :slight_smile:

Edit: I have to add that some of the mentioned CDs are of the Kodak (gold /silver), some are HP and many are of the Memorex brand. Many are discoloured or show some “yellowish” discolouring. They were silver colour in from the begining. I can post pictures to show this.

Welcome to the forums.

If you were able to rip the contents of the discs successfully, then yes, the data will be intact. If you find a disc that cannot be ripped, I would suggest trying a program called ISOBuster to get the material to the hard drive. It works in a different method than most ripping software and can sometimes retrieve material where nothing else worked.