Hello I'm new can someone help me?

vbimport

Hello I’m new to CD freaks and I was wondering if anyone could help me. I have an E machines PC and I have been trying to burn movies to DVDs. I have downloaded numerous DVD burning software and found one that is very useful. I burned a movie that I downloaded to a blank DVD and played it on my computer to find out if it worked. The movie played on my computer. I then put the DVD into the DVD player (not the computer) and tried to play it. The words “unknown disc” came onscreen and the DVD wouldn’t even spin. So I put the DVD into the computer and once again it played. So I then put the DVD into the DVD player and once again it didn’t work.

So I got another blank disc, burned the movie to the disc, and played it on my computer. It worked. So I put the DVD into the DVD player and the words “unknown disc” came onscreen again. I made a call to someone and they told me that it was probably the DVDs that I was using (I was using DVD+R memorex). The person told me that some DVD players won’t play DVD+R and that I probably needed a DVD-R. So I bought a pack of memorex DVD-Rw. I repeated the actions that I took before, burned the movie to the disc, and played it on my computer. It worked. I put the DVD into the DVD player and the words “unknown disc” came onscreen. Maybe I’m doing something wrong but I was wondering if anyone could help me. I would appreciate it.

Hi and welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

The most probable cause is indeed the disc. Memorex is not exactly the best media available in the market, and indeed some standalone players are rather picky with media.

Try again with a quality disc like Verbatim, this should solve.

If you still have problems, to improve compatibility with the standalone player change the booktype of the +R disc to ROM (most burners allow this). Alternatively, try to use a -R disc, again a Verbatim to be sure that you are using a quality disc :slight_smile: