Hello freaks and some questions

hello everybody, i’m new to the site and have some probably dumb questions.
and if this isn’t the right forum for these type of questions please let me know.
and this is a great site, this stuff is kinda confusing and being able to get real world info without a slant is the way it should be, thanks to the site producers and everybody participating.
first let me say that i’m also new music downloading and just bought a portable mp3 player, a centon 1 gig with fm, voice recording and recording from fm, for 29.00 from tiger, it seems somewhat buggy but if i can figure it out seems like a lot of player for the $.
so now the questions

1. is there any difference in the quality of sound from the different mp3 players, or is mp3, mp3, wma, is wma, etc, the only difference in sound quality is in the speakers or earphones
  2. i have a trial premium subscription with bearshare, to get their ‘gold/yellow icon’ quality songs. again is there any difference in the song quality from different sites, or again is mp3 from site x, just the same as mp3 from site y, again because mp3 is mp3, period.
  3. last, the songs i have downloaded and played so far, both mp3, and wma don’t seem to have the same quality that songs from cd’s i have?

i’m not an audiophile by any means, (even tho i keep asking all these quality questions) my only thing is, since it seems so easy and similar price to chose one service over another, and so easy to chose one format over another (mp3 vs wma, etc), and so easy to chose 1 player over another, why not get the best combination anyway.
i hope this is answerable, thanks, bbxrider

Sound quality is most likely dependent on the headphones. Might want to look at this:

http://news.com.com/BearShare+P2P+service+sold+following+settlement/2100-1030_3-6069167.html

Sound quality is determined by bitrate and format.