Hello All.. New To The Boards. Would Like Help

Hello all. I just stumbled across these forums after searching for some firmware for a friend’s laptop burner because it won’t burn at full speed.

I am a DVD burning noob, admittedly, and would like to be pointed in the right direction on how to do some advanced burning, like burning at faster speeds than the media is rated at.

A little backround: I’ve got a Plextor 712a and have burned quite a bit with it, with absolutely no coasters. The media I have used in it (maybe this will help people??) is the following:

GQ (Good Quality) from Fry’s 8x DVD+R - Nero Info tool reports as OPTODISC OR8
Fujifilm 8x DVD-R 25 pack - Nero Info tool reports as ProdiscF01

Nero Info tool also reports available burn speeds of 4x, 6x, and 8x, which I don’t understand. Thought it was supposed to burn at 12. I also have 1.04 firmware.

The reason I switched to DVD-R is because my home DVD player (Panasonic RV-31) will not read +R’s whatsoever. -R’s have not been a problem. The Plextor, so far, has burned about 60 discs with no errors. I don’t have Plextools installed at this time, as I just did a clean install.

Now, on to my “noobiness”. I don’t know how to tell the drive to burn at 12x. I usually use DVD Shrink when burning, and it obviously uses Nero as a back end for that purpose. I’ve got the latest Nero as well. All of my burns have been at 8x. I wouldn’t call myself computer illiterate. I’ve built several machines, for myself and friends and family, and my current rig is sitting in a watercooled Coolermaster Stacker. But my current area of ignorance is the “varsity” level of DVD burning. I see you guys posting graphs and I have no idea what you are talking about. :confused: :confused:

Can someone guide me to a single-source document that will get me up to speed with the rest of you, or is it more of a “read the boards!!!” kind of thing???

Thanks in advance!

Welcome to the forum scroatdog,