HD Picture Quality (Blu-Ray) (LG GGC-H20L)

vbimport

[qanda]This thread is about the LG GGC-H20L. Click here to see full specs[/qanda]I’ve been googling the past 24 hours trying to find a solution for my issue, but I’m surprised at how little I can find. Maybe I’m not using the right terms or something, cause I am a HD player noob.

I purchased a GCC-H20L from Newegg. I got it installed without an issue. The problem is the picture quality…it’s not HD. It looks like a DVD. Before I go on here are my specs:
Asus A8N-SLI SE
Opteron 165 @ 2.6ghz
2 gigs Pc3200 performance ram
8800 GT Video Card with latest nvidia drivers (11/20/08)
Slysoft AnyDVD
Cyberlink Windvd 7.3
Acer X223Wbd Black 22" via DVI cable.
Vizio VS42LF connected via DVI to HDMI cable.

I didn’t install anything off of the DVD that came with it. Don’t know if that is essential as the manual that came with it was pretty much worthless. It installed a default windows driver to it which seems to work fine. I went and rented Iron Man on blu-ray. Popped it in & everything worked just fine. It will play 1080P on my vizio, but it doesn’t look as crisp as it should. I’ve watch HD downloads before via VLC player or MPC & it looks awesome. I was assuming the real deal would look even better, but it doesn’t. It look like a DVD. The TV does report 1080 P.

I downloaded a sample of the Iron Man move & played it in VLC. It looked awesome! The I played the same scene from the sample in windvd off the actual blue ray. It looked all dull and lifeless. I’m usually a google wiz, but this has me stumped. Maybe this kind of stuff is still too new or something. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I tried messing with settings in WinDVD, but it didn’t help much. Turning off hardware acceleration seemed to help a bit, but not as much as I expected.