HD DVD recorder

Hello, I am considering buying an HDTV. Unfortunately, I have many DVDs that I was told would not work well with an HDTV. Therefore, I was told to buy a DVD upconverter. However, I would still like to record HDTV. I know there are DVD upconverts/recorders which I was told would require an HD tuner. I was wondering if

1. I can record HDTV onto a DVD? Then play them on the upconverter
  2. Would it be cheaper to buy an HD tuner and install it into the DVD recorder I have currently.
  3. If I buy the DVD recorder/upconverter is it OK to hook it up via a component connection

I am on a budget and I’m not a stickler for pure HD (But would like it to be clear on the TV).

Please keep in mind that I am not very tech savvy so a simple explanation would be appreciated.

1. I can record HDTV onto a DVD?

No.

[QUOTE=pgrudzi;2219750]Hello, I am considering buying an HDTV. Unfortunately, I have many DVDs that I was told would not work well with an HDTV. Therefore, I was told to buy a DVD upconverter. However, I would still like to record HDTV. I know there are DVD upconverts/recorders which I was told would require an HD tuner. I was wondering if

1. I can record HDTV onto a DVD? Then play them on the upconverter
  2. Would it be cheaper to buy an HD tuner and install it into the DVD recorder I have currently.
  3. If I buy the DVD recorder/upconverter is it OK to hook it up via a component connection

I am on a budget and I’m not a stickler for pure HD (But would like it to be clear on the TV).

Please keep in mind that I am not very tech savvy so a simple explanation would be appreciated.[/QUOTE]