Having Trouble playing DVD movies with WinDVD 6

vbimport

The movies start to play but then I start to see & hear stuttering before the movie finally freezes. This usually starts to occur within the first minute of starting the DVD.

I’m certainly no expert on computers, but the fact that it works at all tells me that all the software components are in place. It seems to me that my computer is overloaded, which is a little hard to understand because I have a Win 98SE OS running on a P4 1.7 GHz Intel machine with a pretty recent ATI graphics board. One thought I had was to unload all unecessary processes that are running in the background because I have heard that WinDVD is pretty CPU intensive. Can someone tell me which processes are essential for Win98SE (I’m guessing Explorer, Mssysmgr, Gbtray, Systray)?

Or am I barking up the wrong tree with the symptoms I’ve discussed.

Thanks in advance for any help offered. Please remember if you respond that I’m no expert at computers, just curious as to why I can’t get WinDVD to operate properly.

can 98se use directX 9 ? have you installed if so ? also, try another dvd player program and see if its windvd or not ?

Yes I do have Direct X9 installed, because I remember my dealer installing it (I don’t remember how to check but I’m sure it’s there).

I removed windvd & interactual and installed powerdvd. I had similar problems here also.

I guess this means it’s not windvd, but what’s next to determine the problem?

:slight_smile:

People, I’m really stuck here and completely frustrated.

Is there somebody monitoring this forum able & williing to help me out?

:confused:

Stuttering/freezing can be indicative of problems with the drive reading the disc.

Does the stuttering occur with only certain discs or with everything you try?
Are the discs in question burnt or pressed?
Do the same discs have playback problems in other DVD-ROM drives and/or standalone players?