Having some issue on LG GSA-H55N (v1.5)

Dear all hope you guys can help me or give me some advise on my issue.

This is my first time using a DVD writer so you can consider me as a noob. I’m currently using a newly bought LG GSA-H55N with firmware v1.5 patch using mcse and using Nero 8.2.80.

First of all I’m having some dilemma on choosing the correct bitsetting/bookytpe for my burning. After going through the forum. I understand that choosing bitsetting/booktype as DVD-ROM is the most recommended setting.

But when I choose this Booktype set to DVD-Rom and proceed with burning. The burning will go smoothly and completed without any error and it will able to be read by the dvdrw itself but when I tried to put it into my Sony dvdrom (DDU1621) it wouldn’t able to read it. The led light will light up and it just seems to be stuck there and the content from the dvd not able to be read.

When I change the Booktype to Physical disc type (DVD+R) everything goes smoothly and when I put into my Sony dvdrom it will able to read the content without any problem.

So currently I’m not sure whether is the Booktype that I choose which cause the burn media not readable or is the lg dvdrw having problem or is it that my Sony dvdrom issue.
Hope some guys over here will able to shade some light. :bow:

I suspect the SONY DVD-ROM is old because its troubling here, and it is the only one troubling.
You may search for an firmware update or just have to live with not bitsetting DVD+R media to DVD-ROM.

Thank you cheft for your reply :). I had went and borrow my friends Samsung dvdrom to tried out and all my burned dvd seems readable by his dvdrom. So I guess it should be my Sony dvdrom kinda out dated. But I don’t understand, shouldn’t setting the Booktype to DVD-Rom should be able to be read by all the dvdrom?