Having problems with Buffer Level, NEC ND-3500A

vbimport

Hi all,

I’m a newbie on this. I have a NEC ND-3500A but I can’t record DVDs or even CDs. When I’m trying to burn a DVD the buffer level keeps going up and down.
I brought the recorder to the store and they told me it had no problem. I formatted my PC and the recorder started to work ok. Today (1 month after formatting) the NEC buffer level is unstable again (it was working today morning and I haven’t installed anything) so I made a partition and installed another Windows there, and it works on that Windows! Now I have one Windows for burning CDs and DVDs and another one to make my things…
So I guess this is a software conflict, but what can it be? I’ve unninstalled most programs and I cannot get it to work on this Windows. Can someone help me?

I have the latest firmware, running two Windows XP SP2.
System config is P4 2.4Ghz 1024MB Ram
Feel free to ask whatever u need to know.

Thanks

any help plz? :rolleyes:

Welcome to the forum

Check that DMA is enabled on all drives, including the optical drive.
Try MS default IDE drivers
Try defragging your hard drive

Also, buffer dance is quite normal on most 16X DVD burners. See the NEC faq for more details.

well, I know it’s quite normal but it’s not normal that it dances (and crashes the DVD) in one Windows and works very well in a new one on the same hard drive…
Both Windows have the same settings for the burners (DMA mode as well).

I made a repair to the Windows where the burner’s buffer were always up and down and it’s working again lol, dunno what’s the problem

probably what Dee-27 said… just a hint but when the post count is large and the person is a mod it is pretty probable they know what they are talking about.