Having problems burning with my new NEC-3540a

Hiya all and first off what a great site.

Im new to burning dvds, I’ve had lots oif practice with cds (of all types, ie data, music vcds)

ATM I have a P4 1.7ghz running win xp sp2, I have 768mb ram (64mb of which is used for video)

K now to my problem:

I am trying to copy a dvd using ANYDVD and Nero Recode 2.2.6.1(i think)

The movie gets thru encoding and i put in my blank media (verbatim 8x)

it starts to write the lead-in track (well thats what msg i get), the light on the drive comes on then after about 2 minutes the light goes out and it just does nothing.

please help as Ive made 2 coasters already.

Thanks for helping a Newbie

Your NEC should be able to handle weak sectors, so I would suggest trying with dvdshrink/dvdcrypter and see if that works. That would tell us whether it was a media issue, or a software issue.

Ok ill try it when i get home

Thanks for such a fast reply

also check that you have the latest firmware installed on your burner.

Ok, I got home and read up on firmwares for my 3540a d/led and flashed it with 1.w5 i got a suscessful flashing msg.

So I opened and used dvdshrink then burnt with dvddecrypter.

Unfortunatly the same thing happened again: At about 1min 45 sec the green LED goes out and pretty much locks up computer. I have to turn it off by pressing and holding the off button (it won’t shutdown using normal methods)

I using Verbatim media that nero info tool says is manufactured by MCC 02RG20

Also Im setting to burn at 8x speed

I did burn a CD with this drive and it works perfectly so…

Please any help will be greatly appriecatred (sp)

Thanks
Wass

this is dvd identifier’s copied info on media

Unique Disc Identifier : [DVD-R:MCC 02RG20 ]

Disc & Book Type : [DVD-R] - [DVD-R]
Manufacturer Name : [Mitsubishi Chemical Corp.]
Manufacturer ID : [MCC 02RG20 ]
Blank Disc Capacity : [2,298,496 Sectors = 4.71 GB (4.38 GiB)]

[ DVD Identifier - http://DVD.Identifier.CDfreaks.com ]