Hardware & Memory Specs Help, Please?

I am very new to this and I don’t even know where to go and look. I am considering getting a DVD burner. I’ve got the basics down on the software. Now can someone please point me in the direction of where I can find specs on the hardware and memory that is needed to run these burners and get a successful burn? Thanks in advance.

if your PC + Operating System is fairly new, you may not need to make any changes to your current system.

download Everest from

go to Computer/Summary when you lanch it.

post results here and we can take a look and help you out if necessary

I’ll do that and post the results. This PC is about 1.5 years old, but it’s a cheapy $500.00 bargain model. My other PC is an ungraded older Gateway but I doubt it’s up to speed. Thanks, I’ll do this and see what happens.

When I started making backups of my discs I was running a fairly old machine with the following:

-AMD K6-2 @500Mhz
-512MB of ram
-40GB hard disk (IDE-66 interface)
-Pioneer DVR-109 burner (on an IDE-66 interface)
-Liteon 167T reader (on an IDE-66 interface)

Did I have any problems with burning? No
Did the machine produce good results? Yes
Was it slow as death? YES…
A typical DVD copy took 2~3 hours to complete, not 30 minutes.

From what I have seen the burning process eats processor cycles. If you have at least 512MB of ram you are in good shape for memory. As you can see from my sig I have done a good size upgrade and from what I have seen the memory in worse case is only at 50% utillization. If you can go for an upgrade you will see the difference in the ripping speed, but in most cases older machines will work for DVD copies.

I did my upgrade for about $600.00 getting everything (except for the case) from newegg. My upgrade drastically increased the processor speed and memory speed (100Mhz to 400Mhz) and this was directly translated into better ripping performance. Instead of taking 2~3 hours for a backup it’s now down to 20~30 minutes!