Hard Drive shows "unformatted" What to do?

Along with two older hard drives, I have been running two new Seagate Sata 3 hard drives for 2 months now. A few days ago I started the computer and one of the new drives appears now as a “unformatted drive.”

This is a 320 GB drive using the NTFS file system. As far as I know, there are no viruses or other programs that could have caused this. This drive is a single partition used for storage only. The other three hard drives run just fine.

I have used Partition Table Doctor software to try to recover/rebuild the partition. This program sees the file structure on the hard drive and says that it has rebuilt the partition table and the master boot record, but on re-boot the hard drive remains unformatted and unaccessible.

Partition Table Doctor offers the option to “fixboot” but clicking on that returns the message that it cannot fixboot.

I have two questions:

1. Any ideas on how to recover the data on the disk?
  2. What caused this? It appears to be totally random, but there must be some cause?

Thanks///// Bobbo

Something similar happened to me when I had a Seagate 80 gig. Every so often on boot-up, it would come up “unknown file system” (it was formatted to NTFS). Since I had nothing of value on the drive (it was just my OS drive), I just reformatted and went on my merry way. Didn’t stop it happening, it happened again several times after that.

However, when I thought to run chkdsk (and Seagate’s diagnostic utility), it turned out I had bad sectors, which may have been the cause of my problem.

Hopefully someone can advise you on recovering your data, but I’d strongly suggest that afterwards you run Seagate’s diagnostic utility as I did. :slight_smile:

Give TestDisk a try. :wink:

test the drives health with seatools for windows , get it here
http://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/support/downloads/seatools