Gurus Please Help - 1640 vs. 1650 vs. 1650?

Hi,

I am a newbie and I needed your help. Gurus, please share your experience and advice on the following.

I have the choice of buying a new Benq 1640 or 1650 or 1655, all at the same price. What would your advice/recommendation be on which one to buy ?

My requirements are as follows

Reader - Needs to be an excellent reader, with the ability to read DVD movie discs with larger number of scratches or chips. Should also have high rip speed.

Burner - Needs to be a good burner on a large number of media, preferably the cheaper media too.

I do not need any Lightscribe ability, although its presence will not prevent me from buying a drive. Also I intend to put it in an external enclosure with firewire interface and use it mostly on a laptop.

Thanks in advance !

Welcome to cdfreaks. :wink:

What is your laptop specs?

My recommendation will be different based on your laptop specs. If your laptop is up to the speed, I would recommend 1640 since it can be flashed to external firmware to take advantage of higher transfer rate (for high speed burning and ripping). Currently the 1650/55 don’t have any external firmware, yet.

If your laptop cannot deliver adequate continuous data transfer rate then either of those drives will be fine in external case since you probably cannot maximize its usage, in term of burn/rip speed.

The only difference with the 1650 & 1655 is lightscribe technology. Search this forum site by reading the posts on those drives and how they perform in external cases. Search is a good place to start. :wink:

Thanks for the prompt reponse.

I did use search :), however I could not find a direct discussion on a comparison between all 3 models at the same price.