GSA-4163B writing only 4x for memorex DVDs

Hi, Im a beginner for all of these things, and I saw a couple threads about the 16x memorex dvds only being able to write 4x on the GSA-4163B because it doesnt recogonize the dvd, Can someone give me a step by step instructions on using MediaCodeSpeedEdit to change the firmware to make it accept the 16x for the memorex.

And on the website for LG, it says when I install the firmware, I should have my dvd drive on Master and on the Secondary IDE controller, but curently I have my dvd drive on slave connected to my hard drive which is connected to the primary IDE controller and my second IDE controller is taken by my CD drive…Do I really have to change my dvd drive to the secondary controller? and if so, when would it cause any trouble with my dvd drive since it was originally on the primary IDE controller?

Welcome to the forum. First, are you using A105. I would expect that it would work, so try it first. I would be surprised if you could just modify an old firmware to go at 16X and get a decent burn. In any event, it is a hit and miss proposition that will use up a lot of discs.

Also, if you get to Office Max, you will find a bunch of Verbatim 16X -R, MCC 03RG20, that is a near perfect burn on the LG 4163. $15 per 50.

And also, you should be able to flash your drive as it is. Some people have had a problem with some hardware and you might need to change it, but it should not hurt to try it first, as is.

Currently Im using A104

First, do what chas0039 suggested, upgrade to A105 first.

Next, it is probably impossible to give you step by step instuctions for that without any more information because Memorex discs are not a constant. Memorex does not make discs, it just buys from others and rebrands, very much like “house brand” products in a supermarket. Who it buys from differs from time to time. Because of that, Memorex 16x discs could really be any discs made by nearly anyone from time to time.