GSA-4163 available now in UK

newbie alert…

Hi everyone, just thought i would let you know that Dabs.com are selling the 4163 (bare drive) at £51.00 including vat. Ordered one on friday and am now eagerly awaiting delivery. (51 in stock friday - only 7 left!)

Its been ages since i have posted here, simply because i had forgot i was a member. I have been following the posts about the new LG drive and decided to wait instead of getting the 4160. This will be my first DVD writer, but all my CD writers have been LG by choice. The GCE 8400 being the pick of the bunch. It served all my needs and dealt with anything i threw at it including copy protections. (i read somewhere on this forum that LG writers could not handle copy protections - nonsense. And i have the SD 2/3 backups to prove it!) I am not a prolific burner, nor i am bothered about blistering speed, i just want good burns that will last. Reading some of the posts has taught me how to check the CD qualty with CD Speed. My TY discs burned in the 8400 return a quality score of 100. This was one of the reasons i bought another LG. i am not interested in burning discs faster than they are rated, nor i am interested in using crappy media, i just want good quality burns.

Anyway, enough of my ramblings, hello to everyone and i hope you will go easy on me when i need DVD burning help. :slight_smile:

Should I say welcome back? It’s been 27 months since you posted last time. :bigsmile:

Hi Kenshin.

Yes, its been a while. I could not even remember posting here ever. It was only when i tried to register that i was told my e-mail address was in use. Just shows how many problems i had with the 8400 :bigsmile:

Also at http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=159195 - slightly more expensive it seems.

I noticed that ebuyer are also selling the bare (OEM) drive, although they don’t seem to have any stock at the moment…

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/prod...oduct_uid=82782