GSA 4081B has me ripping my hair out!

:a
Suddenly I’m having issues with this drive. I’ve always used the same 3 types of media (CD-R) and was able to burn @ 24X. Now I get error messages :confused: . I started burning at 16X and occasionally I’d end up with a coaster, now I have to burn at 8X if I’m sure to get a proper disc in the end.
What gives? This has happened over the last couple of days and I can’t figure out the issue. I haven’t dowloaded any new programs (that I’m aware of) and I even tried updating the firmware. The only thing that did was make my Ridata 8X DVD-R’s burn @ 4X instead of 2X. Hooray. Still 4X short. This deck is only 6 months old and really hasn’t caused me much grief in the past. Any ideas?

I use Roxio EZCD 7 & DVD Copy. Is it possible that these programs are corrupt? Or is it the deck? I’m a newbie, but I’d really appreciate any guidance in determining where the problem lies. However, I’m convinced it’s the LG.

NOTE: When using EZCD, it has also started to have episodes where it doesn’t recognize the blank media. Is it a hardware problem or a software problem?

the 4081b only burns dvd-r at 4x anyways but burns dvd+ at 8x

I tried many +R 8x Media with this drive, but all of them burned as 4x

Which media you have used when burning at 8x ?

I’ve used RITDATA 8X DVD-R. I’m getting the impression that this particular LG model is really problematic. I’ve re-updated the firmware and it seems to be worse off. If i were to completely uninstall the hardware and then reinstall, would it set the burner up back to it’s original state? Or will the burner still have the firmware updates on it? It now doesn’t recognize the Mitsui CD-R’s I WAS burning at 8X. Arrrrgh!

Same problem with me on the same model.