Greetings. MP3 sound better than CD?

vbimport

Greetings. Newbie here, Kevin aka SpaceRanger. Here is a question for you:
Could a CD be ripped, put into MP3 format (or some other format), and have the music sound even better than on the original CD?
I have been toying with this idea. I just read an article where an audiophile ripped a couple of songs at 195 and 350K. Then he converted to MP3. He said that the 195K MP3 version “sounded a little brighter” than the original CD. So maybe there is a way to make a CD recording sound even better than the CD!

Sounding “better” in this context is purely subjective.

You could replace a fine classical work with RAP music, and there’d surely be people who think it sounds “better” than the original.

In any situation where the modified copy is discernibly different from the unmodified original, it’s always possible that someone would claim the copy is “better” - BUT would YOU also think it’s better?

Going by objective instead of subjective measurements, a processed copy can never be better than the original, since the best possible copy is identical to the original.

Sometimes an original can be subjectively “improved” upon (according to most listeners) by performing advanced processing, such as intelligently reducing noise.

Re-encoding music in different bitrates using the MP# (or any other) format is not such a form of advanced intelligent processing, so it will not produce a result that is subjectively better for most listeners, but rather produce a result that is worse for most listeners.

Your try it and decide for yourself.

Welcome to CDFreaks! :slight_smile:

It’s all subjective. What sounds better is just a matter of someones preferences.
Anyway I think there’s no way that MP3 could sound sound better cause there is less audio information in MP3. A lot of frequencies are missing in MP3.

SpaceRanger ,