Android version 4.4.2 removes an important privacy feature. Beware about updating!
It removes a feature called "App Ops" which allowed you to selectively disable what permissions were granted to certain apps. There's been a lot of controversy about it: (www.pcworld.com/article/2080241). The feature was hidden in 4.3 (but still accessible using 3rd party apps), and has now been removed entirely
Such a feature was very handy to rein in useful apps that did undesired behavior. For example, a Flashlight app that wanted access to your contacts, call log, and location info to sell to markers. Using App Ops you could revoke that permission.