Good receiver with HDMI and audio processing under US$1000?

vbimport

Hello, I can’t say that I’m new to hi-def since I own LCD TV for quite a while and have been watching hidef broadcasts since. I just bought a new blu-ray player (PS3) and I’m in the market for a new receiver. My old one doesn’t have HDMI inputs. I will probably need 3 HDMI inputs (not sure) since I also have hd box from my cable company so it would be nice if there is a spare hdmi input for future needs.

I read in this forum that the receiver need to have high def audio processor, which my old one doesn’t have, only DTS max.

My old denon was above 1K but since I’m planning on getting some more hidef gears, I’m looking for a good receiver under $1K, any advice?

I recently bought an Onkyo SR-705 from Circuit City for $650.

http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Onkyo-TX-SR705-7-1-Channel-Home-Theater-Receiver-Black-TX-SR705/sem/rpsm/oid/185975/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do

I like it so far. It has 3 HDMI inputs and will decode all Blu-ray and HD-DVD soundtracks sent via bitstream (DTS-HD MA, Dolby TrueHD, Dolby Digital Plus, lossless PCM). The one thing it won’t do is decode 192 kHz sound sources. Although I’m not sure what discs these are on; I haven’t run into that problem yet.

The cheaper Onkyo SR-605 can be had for $400.

http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Onkyo-TX-SR605-7-1-Channel-Home-Theater-Receiver-Black-TX-SR605/sem/rpsm/oid/181406/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do

The 605 only has 2 HDMI inputs though. Also, unlike the 705, it can’t “expand” 5.1 lossless PCM sources to 7.1 sound.

[QUOTE=Some Random Guy;2009035]I recently bought an Onkyo SR-705 from Circuit City for $650.

http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Onkyo-TX-SR705-7-1-Channel-Home-Theater-Receiver-Black-TX-SR705/sem/rpsm/oid/185975/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do