Good Hard drives

vbimport

My Maxtor Ultra ATA 20GB 7200 RPM Internal Hard Drive is giving me alot of write errors and I think its dying on me. I’m A noob and dont know much about upgrades. I’ve heard alot of bad reviews regarding Maxtor HD’s. Can someone recommand a good hard drive instead. Thanx

I have run Western Digitals, Maxtors and Seagates. I now just buy Seagates, due to the five year warranty. Now they won’t recover any lost data for you, but at least will replace your drive.

I have maxtors that have been running for a while now but I have also had a couple of them die and I really don’t trust them enough to buy anymore. Some of their drives are rated pretty bad when it comes to falures on storage review too. I have a couple of seagates that I recently purchased that are pretty well rated for reliability, and have a couple of hitachi drives that have been running fine for a while and are also rated pretty well. If I were to get another drive I think it would be a hitachi or a seagate.

thanx guys will look into seagate or samsung IDE :slight_smile:

Seagates are great, although I’ve also gotten a Hitachi recently and it’s a great drive as well. They are great drives, quick, quiet, run cool. Seagate has a 5 year warranty and my Hitachi has a 3 year warranty while most (all?) others have a 1 year warranty. That has nothing to do with why I like them though and I’d buy them even if they had no warranty at all over a lesser burner with a longer warranty. The fact that they work so well is probably no coincidence that they carry longer warranties, though.

I would go for a seagate also. I have a 7200 rpm seagate in my Lacie D2 external drive and its brilliant.

http://www.kbench.com/hardware/?no=30521&sc=5

KBench interview with Samsung HDD

Originally written by Kim Dong Guk @Kbench.com

1. 0.5 inch HDD

0.85 inch HDDs are already used in some mobile devices. Samsung plans to introduce 0.5 inch HDDs when such devices need to get smaller and lighter.