Going HD on the PC

vbimport

I’m new to all this HD stuff. I was wondering what I would need if I were to build a new PC, what components I would need to make it able to view HD content on the PC.

I guess the newest and most different aspect for me is the whole HDCP thing. I understand the newest Slysoft AnyDVD (HD version) circumvents this to some degree, but I’m still wondering what base hardware I’m going to need. As far as I understand it, I at least need:

LCD monitor capable of 1920x1080 with HDMI input
PCI-E video card with HDMI output
BD-ROM drive
HDDVD-ROM drive
suitable software such as Cyberlink PowerDVD

Is this it? Would I need more or less than that? Also, are there any PC drives out there capable of reading both Blu-ray and HDDVD? I don’t need to be able to burn anything yet, just read.

Think thats about it.

You could get a combi drive like the LG BR / HDDVD one (GGC-H20L is a BD / HDDVD reader, GGW-H20L is a HDDVD reader and BD reader & writer) as that covers both bases (but Toshiba has just pulled out of HDDVD so the format is now expected to die out, the LG ist still cheaper than most BD only drives though and you can buy all the cheap HDDVD films when they go clearence).

If you go for a graphics card that supports HDCP and does full offloading of BD / HDDVD then you can get away with a low speed and cool running CPU. I have an old Athlon AM2 4200 chip and an ATi HD3470 graphics card, this has no problems playing back 1080P blueray discs with only 15% cpu usage. Without the HD3470 I can only play back at 720P and sometimes it stutters.

Look for drives that bundle PowerDVD with them (the LG has a basic version that outputs to 2 channel or SPDIF interface, good enough for a basic system).