Getting XP

vbimport

I will preface by pointing out that I’m a student and that I need a valid and legal copy of XP to test out various networking gubbins.

Ideally I’d like a genuine copy of XP that I can use with Virtual box for practice.

Having searched various generic sellers all I can seem to find are OEM copies of XP, often sold with COA, some mention a product key and most come with the obligatory chunk of hardware.

Simply put, are these OEM copies valid and can the be used to create a full working VM or two with full functionality of the XP operating system.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

[QUOTE=Pagru;2642989]I will preface by pointing out that I’m a student and that I need a valid and legal copy of XP to test out various networking gubbins.

Ideally I’d like a genuine copy of XP that I can use with Virtual box for practice.

Having searched various generic sellers all I can seem to find are OEM copies of XP, often sold with COA, some mention a product key and most come with the obligatory chunk of hardware.

Simply put, are these OEM copies valid and can the be used to create a full working VM or two with full functionality of the XP operating system.

Any help is greatly appreciated.[/QUOTE]

Unfortunately it isnot available to buy anymore that I know of if your wanting a copy you need to contact M$ support to buy a license for XP. We here unfortunately don’t help getting license or COA.

Can you provide any advice as to the general validity of OEM CDs?

Home computer builders have been buying OEM versions of XP for many years. By the terms of the software EULA, the license for an OEM copy of XP is tied to the hardware of the first computer it is put in. People get around this by telling Microsoft that the motherboard has died, and they’ve had to replace it. Microsoft very rarely contests this argument, and so the same software gets used over and over again.