Getting started... what drive/which media?

vbimport

Totally newbie here, going to buy my first drive. Have read and lurked so I’m thinking LG GSA-4163B, but I also know Plextor and Ben Q are good drives. So I guess my questions is not really about speed but more about success (fewer coasters). Is there a chart or thread that lists drives and success ratios with varios brands of media? Keep in mind that I’m in the USA, and prefer to buy my media locally at a COMPUSA, Staples, or OD unless there’s a better deal online.

With regard to drives, it’s been suggested that I should go for a dual-layer drive (IDE) but then I’ve also heard that dual layer might go away. Any opinions?

With regard to software, I’ve used Nero Burning Rom 5.5 for CDs and had much more success with it than Roxio, so I think I’d like to stick with Nero (v.6.x?). Is that a good idea?

Also, I’m assuming that DVD Shrink is a program I’ll need to get and learn, are there any others that I should be downloading?

Thanks in advance for the help and advice!

Your choice of what you feel are the best drives is interesting. I would choose NEC 3500 and I would stick with TY media, -R, if you want trouble free burning. Actually, if you have a decent drive, NEC, Pioneer, or BenQ, and you stick with TY from Rima.com you should never have any trouble.

Just my opinion, but I’ve been on here for a while now, and I’ve seen lots of issues with LG drives talked about…I also had an old LG that I hated and hence already hold a grudge, so I’m probably biased, but that’s my $.02 Personally, I would go(and did go) with the BenQ DW1620. Good drive all around, well supported firmware, and makes GREAT backups when you use decent media. As for which media, don’t buy the “made in Taiwan”…Buy the “Made in Japan,” preferably TYs, Fujis, or Maxells. If you’re interested in the Benq, lurk in the BenQ/Phillips forum a bit–there’s plenty of input as to which media to go with…Good luck.