Getting ready to burn my 1st DL Disk

vbimport

I’m a hound for quality burns. I’ve finally got a good reason to burn some double layer media. I’ve got three drives that can do it (BenQ 1620, NEC3500 & LG4163B). The crap is too expensive to do “trial” burns…I selfishly want immediate success.

Just looking for some experienced DL folks with some recent tips like best software (Nero, DVDecrypter, etc.), drive I should use or any “gotchas” I should be aware of.

My initial idea is to use the BenQ with bitsetting, burned with DVDecrypter (of which I have limited burning experience, but lots of ripping experience)…

The combo you have selected would be my recommendation. Make sure you are using quality media though.

Thanks for the quick reply…

Forgot to mention that…I’ll be using Verbs…

i’ve burned about 6 Verb +R DLs successfully with DVD Decryptor so i’m not about to change :wink:

I’m not overly impressed by my DW1620’s DL performance so I’m not sure I would choose that drive (I use my Plextor for DL).
For .iso DVD decrypter should be fine. If you want to burn a VIDEO_TS dir. directly I would recommend Recordnow, everything else seems to f-ck up the layer break.

There are a couple of threads on this subject over at:

http://www.videohelp.com

I’ve done a few DL burns with the 1620 on Verbatims. Latest DVDDecrypter, ISO Read -> ISO Write. Layer break was fine on two players. It’s okay to remove PUOs, but significant file modification?..Dunno, I’m not convinced, although some claim that DVDDecrypter can still do the layer break just fine. Settings -> ISO Write Mode -> Layer Break -> Calculate Optimal. I’m letting others do the expensive testing for now :wink: .

Thanks for the replies…I’m not all that confident.