Getting ready for DVD9 copies

vbimport

I’ve just discovered DVDFab and I think it’s fabulous! (Pardon the pun.) This is my first attempt at copying a commercial dvd for backup. Actually, I’m doing all this for my daughter. Her computer only has a dvd reader. So I read up on the process and the idea of running some kind of decrypter in the background while running another program to copy it, and another to burn…well, it just all seemed too much for me. So I went looking for something that would do it all; not even knowing if there were such programs available.

I tried a couple of others before DVDFab and the results were less than stellar. One problem or another came up. I can’t remember now what they were because I’ve deleted them and my notes.

My burner will do DVD9, but I didn’t want to end up with a bunch of expensive coasters while finding a program that works. Actually I haven’t even tried my burner yet with DVD9’s for anything. So I experimented first with just the Main Movie. I burned it to DVD+R. I spot-checked it on my dvd player in the living room and it looked fine. Gave it to my daughter and she said it played fine on her tv and the quality was great. So now we are ready to invest in the DVD9 discs so I can make her a backup of the complete movie. It’s a concert, actually.

When I did the Main Movie, I left DVDFab at the default settings. I didn’t change a thing. But I’ve read through many posts here and people have mentioned some settings changes in Common Preferences that seem to be preferred. So, should I make these changes and leave them as default, just in case they might be needed another time?

They are:
Write Speed…4x or 8x
Write Type of DVD-R Media…SAO Writing
DVD Writable Media (DVD-5) Size…4464 (use customize in drop down )
Set Booktype to DVD-ROM…(put a check in the small box)

Also, I am curious about the choice to remove DTS audio. Her dvd had it and another sound file (I didn’t write it down but it was PMI or something like that.)