Getting my 1620 today, should I be worried?

vbimport

From all the talk on this forum, it seems as though I should have something to worry about when I get my 1620 Pro today, whether or not it will be a good or defective drive. I am getting it from NewEgg, which also seems as though many people w/bad drives have gotten from too.

What should I look for and what should I do when I first get the drive? I am a newbie at DVD writers and this will be my 1st one.

Thanks,

BDog

Don’t worry be Happy.

No one can guarantee an individual drive. BUT I have 2 BenQ1620’s and would happilly buy a 3rd and a 4th. One or 2 people seem to be actively trying to say that recent BenQ drives are no good. I have no problem with anyone making a point but to keep on repeating an unsubstantiated point of view to the degree that people are concerned about buying seems to me to be unreasonable. I have had problems with a Sony, a Liteon, and 2 NEC’s in the past - not all drives are perfect and some have to be returned. Would I buy another Sony, Liteon, or NEC ? yes.

So good luck with your BenQ. Use good media, quality recording software, and a good computer system and you will probably have the best results currently available. If your particular drive is no good then send it back.

As quality of DW1620s appears to vary widely, you may be lucky to get a good one, or like some here in recent time, a bad one.

ATM I am testing my replacement drive and while it works better than the first, it again starts to show some problems. If this gets worse with the same speed as since yesterday, I suspect this drive will be junk by tomorrow …