General questions about Blu-ray

vbimport

I’m very new in blu-ray world, thus i have some questions about blu-ray that i have tried to search answers to but hadn’t got it completely clear to myself. Moreover, there is some decisions (probably) made in a hurry:doh:
r

1. I bought a Samsung SE-506CB external slim drive for my laptop since this is practically the only model that is available immediately at local stores. It was reasonably priced too as my budget is somewhat limited. This device was shipped with TS00 firmware, which i have upgraded to TS02. Now a question: Was this a good (or at least acceptable) deal?

2. I bougth a Verbatim blanks in 10-pack spindle (CMCMAG BA5). I was foolish enough not to search and learn about that media before i made that deal. According to this and this, should i be worried? Can i use this device for adequate scanning results to actually know if this media actually goes well?

3. Is it true that BD-R is by nature more reliable than DVD-R/+R since it uses inorganic silicone-copper recording layer that is supposed to last longer than DVD’s organic dye layer?

4. What could happen to BD-R discs if i store them in a spindle box? There is a recommendation that i should only store in jewelcases (pretty obvious indeed). Is that Hard Coat that hard?

I hope i won’t look too silly…:o

Hello Hannez, welcome back. I seem to remember you from a long time back in the Lounge.

I don’t know a great deal about the Samsung Blu-ray drives. The one you have may be one of the last drives available that is still able to do scans, according to Ibex, Jadburner and others. As for burning, you will simply have to test yours to see some results. Jadburner doesn’t seem too impressed with the drive, and I’d certainly avoid burning at 2x with it and these discs.